History of Charlotte, NC

A Brief History of Charlotte, North Carolina

Charlotte, or also known as the “Queen City”, got its name when the settlers named the city after King George`s III wife. The city was first settled by the English-Irish immigrants who traveled on the Great Wagon Road coming from the city of Philadelphia. The area that is now Charlotte was settled around 1755, when Thomas Spratt and his family settled near what is now known as Elizabeth neighborhood.
Today, Charlotte is the second largest city in the US Southeast, right behind the city of Jacksonville, Florida. Charlotte are a home to the corporate headquarters of the Bank of America, which makes them the second largest banking center in the USA, behind New York City. Charlotte is also the major center in the U.S. motorsports industry, and a home of two professional sports teams – Charlotte Hornets in the NBA and Carolina Panthers in the NFL.
In the year 2013, the Forbes magazine named the city of Charlotte as one of the Best Places for Business and Careers in the United States of America. Charlotte is also listed as the twentieth largest city in the US, and the sixtieth fastest growing city in the US between the years 2000-2008.
1763 – Mecklenburg County established.
1768 – Charlotte Town incorporated.
1770 – Queen’s Museum chartered.
1774 – Charlotte becomes capital of county.
1775 – Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence signed.
1777 – Liberty Hall Academy incorporated.
1835 – Charlotte Journal newspaper begins publication.
1837 – Charlotte Mint opens.
1850 – William F. Davidson becomes mayor.
1852 – Western Democrat newspaper begins publication.
1857 – Charlotte Female Institute established.
Young Men’s Christian Association active.
Gas lighting in use.
1858 – Charlotte Military Academy established.
1867 – Biddle Memorial Institute founded.
1875 – Charlotte public schools established.
1880 – Population: 7,084.
1886 – Charlotte Chronicle newspaper begins publication.
1887 -Electric lighting in use.
Charlotte Fire Department founded.
1888 – The Charlotte News begins publication.
1890 – Charlotte Post newspaper begins publication.
1891 – City hall built.
1897 – Elizabeth College established.
1908 – Union National Bank founded.
1915 – Temple Israel built.
1924 – Hotel Charlotte opens.
1930 – Population: 82,675.
1932 – Charlotte Symphony Orchestra formed.
1935 – Charlotte Municipal Airport established.
1936 – Mint Museum opens.
1946 – Charlotte Center of the University of North Carolina opens.
1947 – The Unitarian Universalist Church of Charlotte founded.
1948 – Children’s Theatre of Charlotte founded.
1955 – Ovens Auditorium opens.
1957 – American Commercial Bank formed.
1966 – Charlotte Botanical Gardens established.
1967 – WCNC-TV begins broadcasting.
1968 – Bartlett Tree Research Laboratories Arboretum established.
1970 – SouthPark Mall opens.
1973 – Carowinds Monorail begins operating.
1974 – Airplane accident.
1976 – Afro-American Cultural Center established.
1980 – Population: 314,447.
1982 – Heroes Convention (comic books) begins.
1985 – Metrolina Theatre Association established.
1986 – Opera Carolina formed.
1998 – Bank of America formed.
2005 – Charlotte Bobcats Arena opens.
2007 – Billy Graham Library opens.
2009 – Anthony Foxx becomes mayor.
2010 – NASCAR Hall of Fame and Bechtler Museum of Modern Art open.
Population: 731,424.
2012 – Little Sugar Creek Greenway built.
City hosts Democratic National Convention.
2013 – Population: 792,862.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *